Reviews Yabu The House Of Katsu

Zomato
Ninin Neko Manaog
+5
I went today and I love their Prawn & Creamy Dory ❤ It has large servings! Enough for me to get full. Unlimited refill of side dish. Will definitely come again!
yesterday
Zomato
Edgardo Masamayor Jr
+4
Anything with "unlimited" something is always attractive. Actually the "unlimited" appeal here is a bonus because the food here is already delicious. Ordered Hire Pork Tenderloin Katsu set and it came with refillable rice, cabbage and soup. You can choose from the three sizes of Katsu - 80g, 120g or 180g (or translated to diet, no diet, starving). I chose 120g and it was just right around 6 slices. You can also choose between white or brown rice. I finished just one serving of brown rice but managed to cram three refills of cabbage. This is one of my go to places when I'm hungry but don't want to feel guilty loading up.
9 months ago
Zomato
Marsi
+4
This is the best place to eat katsu. Staffs are friendly and provide your needs in a timely manner. Ambiance is also great, seats are cozy. will definitely come back here! 😍
11 months ago
Zomato
Raymond Lim
+5
Dine here last week with my good friends. most of us ordered the pork cutlet rice, my friend Liza ordered Tuna. Everyone liked the food and they were delicious!

Service from the staff is good too! It didn’t take long to serve the food despite the restaurant is crowded and busy. Will surely come back here!
11 months ago
Zomato
Haydee Kua
+5
YABU WILL FOREVER BE MY FAVE GO-TO KATSU PLACE! ❤️ KATSU FRIED TO PERFECTION! 👌🏻 I ALWAYS GET THEIR MENCHI KATSU SET BECAUSE OF IT'S CHEESY CENTER!! 😩❤️
Oct 03, 2019
Zomato
Ayvee Callao
+5
The first time I tasted their menchi katsu, I knew it would always be my order everytime I’d eat at Yabu. Menchi katsu is the best, that’s all!!!!!!!! 😭😆
Oct 01, 2019
Zomato
Ric Millicent Carolasan
+5
I love that they have unlimited rice as well as cabbage. I love the food and the service. The waiters do not get tired of us asking for a refill.
Jul 21, 2019
Zomato
Yeeun Kim
+4
Especially I love the cheese stick. It’s really good. And also the curry tastes the real curry from Japan. I ordered rosu since hire was not available. I preferred Hire for its with no fat, while rosu is with little fats according to the menu. Yet rosu has very minimal fats. So it was good as well. And the servings were on timely manner. Just hope still that it would be much better if all the menus on their menu would be available. Overall good.
Apr 21, 2019
Zomato
Smica
+4
Our ordered:
Salmon katsu (5/5)
The meat is well done and good
Dori katsu (4/5)
Furikake fries (4/5)

The ambiance is so good and really full of customer
But lack of hygiene, there is some dirt of the food in the floor.
Service is good.
Price is affordable also.
Apr 03, 2019
Zomato
Fallennlights
+5
I was really happy that we went here for my birthday since I always go back to Yabu if I want to have an authentic Katsu meal experience. I ordered the Hire Set (120g), and it had the same great taste as before. I love the unli cabbage and goma, I think I had 5 servings of it. 😂😂

I think that they really value the consistency of their food preparation & cooking, because I've been to the Megamall and Glorietta branches and the food was near identical.

Food - 5 ♥️
Price - 5 ♥️
Location & Service - 5 ♥️
Mar 14, 2019
Zomato
Mykmyk Pascua
+5
Yabu is such a good example that Japanese dining is all about experiencing the food by all senses. Grinding pepper and salt introduces you the different textures of the katsu feast. I'm not a fan of greens but I had a lot of the shredded cabbage, thanks to their ultra delicious dressing. Their bentos are quite pricey, but given the volume and flavor, they are all real scores!

Food - 5/5
Place - 5/5
Price - 4/5
Service - 5/5
Feb 02, 2019
Zomato
MA ELENA PASCUAL
+5
Dine New Year’s day. 25 mins wait was worth all the wait.
We had Pork Katsu - hire,Chicken Katsu,Chicken Katsudon.
Katsu is a comfort food for my family. Thus was excited and made sure we get to dine at Yabu. And it didn’t disappoint us. The thickness if the katsu was just right to the bite. Cooked through and crunchiness was perfect. The experience of making your sauce (pounding on the sesame seeds etc) was fun. Serving portion was just right (got the big size) though i had to take out 1 or 2 pcs. I i didn’t had rice there would be no take outs.
Service was good. Waiters were attentive and no long wait for the bill payment.
Over all we were happy with Yabu and will definitely come back given a chance.
Jan 31, 2019
Zomato
KC
+5
Their set makes for quite a filling meal! I usually order the 120g Hire Katsu Set which comes with the Hire Katsu (of course, at around 500 cal), Rice (200 cal), Cabbage salad with Goma sauce (80 cal/half cup), Miso soup (35 cal), Fruit slices (50 cal).

Calories: Maybe at least 865 for the 120g Hire Katsu Set. Could be more depending on your refills or how much sauce you use.

1 - Hated it | 2 - Didn't like | 3 - It's ok | 4 - Liked it | 5 - Loved it
Jan 02, 2019
Zomato
The Eatventurers
+4
As always, Yabu gives best service with servers mostly attentive and always ready to take orders and requests/refills.

We ordered menchi curry and menchi katsu. The rice serving’s surprisingly hefty from the last time we tried Yabu. Hence, we no longer ordered refill.

The curry tastes like your typical Japanese curry. You can request the level of spiciness or whether you want it served separately or topped on your rice. Nothing’s changed with its katsu and sauce, it’s still the classic sweet we love and we still love their goma sauce on the shredded cabbage.


The Eatventurers
Nov 22, 2018
Zomato
Swarnabi Pal
+4
Ordered creamy Dori katsu. It's basically a Japanese item, Dori fish roasted and fried which comes with katsu sauce, rice and cabbages. Sesheme seeds add a very nice flavor in it. Loved the taste.
Nov 02, 2018
Zomato
Patrick Unson
+5
Agedashi Tofu
It's basically tofu with the famous, crunchy panko coating. This was deliciously expensive!

Chicken Katsu
It's a slightly healthier and more affordable option than pork (hire or rosu) but the pork does taste amazing with a little bit of fat.

Lychee and Peach Iced Tea
I like that the refillable glass was thin enough to control my pacing. The beverage was pretty good but made me stick to one rice only.

Menchi Katsu
Liking this dish attracts different feedback. It's good but some don't want their cheese mixed with meat. Some do, such as myself, but it turned out to be pretty heavy. Yet, even that characteristic can be super for some... such as myself.

Mozzarella Katsu Sticks
These were super! The cheese put up a fight after every bite, not letting go of the katsu like it had a life that depended on it, if that makes any sense. I truly enjoyed their flavor since they weren't too salty.

Service
Thanks to JM for getting all our orders right! She also did well with the refills.

Tips
For set meals, white rice also comes in brown, which is healthier but just as heavy IMO.

If you get Katsu Curry, you might not need to crush your sesame seeds and mix with Tonkatsu Sauce anymore. But if you're adventurous, ignore me completely! 😊

The sauce container for the cabbage is pretty difficult since it serves you by the drop. I sometimes take the cover off to hasten the sloth but it can get messy and increase wastage. Get only what you need and wipe it up a bit after closing it again. Or ignore me completely because the management might not like this practice. 😊
Sep 29, 2018
Zomato
Aries Responso Agnes
+5
Looove the katsu here! Specially the menchi (cheese and ham) set! The katsu itself is not unlimited, but all other sides are refillable without limit (rice, fruits, cabbages, soup).
Sep 24, 2018
Zomato
Robbie Rob
+5
I've been to several katsu places, and can say with all confidence that Yabu tastes the best! Service is excellent and food quality is topnotch! Looove the Tori Menchi Katsu forever! 😋
Sep 08, 2018
Zomato
Toni Stacy Ainnah Aquino
+4
We celebrated our friend's birthday here last night. I can say that the ambience was good even if they were having slight problems with the a/c. The lighting was enough to see your food and to make the room cozy.

This is actually my second time around here. Always free because it was a dinner treat. I ordered for the mechie katsu set last night and didn't get disappointed.

The meat was tender and juicy even if I ordered this mix of pork and beef katsu. The miso soup that came in with the meal set at 390 was about 4/5 as well compared to the one they serve in Urameshi-ya, an authentic Jap resto in Makati. I had 2 servings of it which proves my point. 😅

First serving of rice was so enjoyable because of the sesame seeds in it. The slaw was still fresh and crisp and you also get to make your own dressing or sauce with it.

The fruit servings was the best for me since I really love pineapples.

Over all, I had an enjoyable meal. A little over the budget for me but since we get unlimited rice, I have no right to complain. I hooe they provide more options to create your sauces, I was thinking of balsamic vinegar but then again, that is no longer Japanese.
Sep 01, 2018
Zomato
Jerome Cadano
+4
1st time ko makakain ng Katsu, and I could say na buti na lang dito ako nakatikim ng 1st Katsu sa life ko.. mas lalo na ung Chicken Katsu, I just gave 4 kasi di ko natripan ung lasa ng Menshi, although masarap sya kasi sobrang lambot ng meat, pero di ko lng talaga nagswak ung lasa sakin.. pero for the Chicken... napakasarap talaga. I ordered the 2 and medyo nagsisi ako na sana buong Chicken Katsu na lang inorder ko.
Aug 31, 2018
Zomato
Lazy Worm
+5
Before I went to Yabu, I had only 1 thing in mind - to satisfy my tonkatsu craving.

I visited during a lunch time. The place is clean and orderly. The staff who entertained me was quick. I like that in a restaurant. When I scanned the menu, I was torn between their Premium Kurobuta Katsu Set and the Original Katsudon Set.

But then I decided for the latter - the basic pork. So when I come back, I will be eating an upgraded version - The Premium Kurobuta Katsu.

It didn't take long before the food was served. And yes, it tasted very good. So good that I just took my time to eat extra slow. Hehe! And I was thinking, if the original katsudon is already tender, juicy and very delicious.... how much more is the premium Kurobuta?
Aug 20, 2018
Zomato
Raquel Ulep
+5
Tried their set menu and it was really filling. Clean and Cozy place, reasonable price, good customer service, food is served in a short waiting time.
Aug 13, 2018
Zomato
Kate
+4
Food’s good. Big serving and a lot of choices! I also like how they have brown rice as an option.

Price is worth it also, I think.

I would just like to go back to this restaurant more if they have faster service. The attendants are as polite as can be but it takes 10 minutes just to get my refill for a cabbage or another bowl of rice. I had to stop eating every now and then just cause I’m lacking something.

Maybe it’s best if they assign someone who’s really just in charge of that, and not just the same waiters who’s been taking and delivering everyone else’s orders
Aug 11, 2018
Zomato
Aika Bertumen
+4
Very very delicious tonkatsu!
With unlimited rice and cabbage for as low as 330 php! They also offer kiddie meal, so cute.
The staffs are friendly in this branch and the service is fast. Good job!
Aug 09, 2018
Zomato
PigOutSundays
+4
Yabu never fails to satisfy when it comes to katsu.

I always order their Rosu. I like my pork with a little bit of fat in it. 

This time though I ordered my other favorite dish - their beef gyudon with brown rice. Like the katsu variant, an order comes with unli rice, miso, cabbage and fruits.
Aug 06, 2018
Zomato
Chris Williams
+4
I always know what to expect when I dine at any Yabu branch. I always walk away satisfied and full. This time I ordered the Hire katsu curry set (Hot), with brown rice. It was nice. Service at this branch wasn’t as good as the others I’ve been to, but it’s still okay.
Jul 30, 2018
Zomato
Clarishgalino
+4
I ordered the katsu curry as well as another ala carte katsu (forgot the name but it was a combination of beef and pork + cheese). Needless to say, I left the restaurant full. Their katsu was good. Was not too hard nor too soft. There was not much people in when I dined but it was kind of hard to call out their waiters for water and the bill.
Jul 27, 2018
Zomato
Del Mary Herrera
+5
I love Japanese food and I always search for restaurants who served the best katsu in town and I stumble upon yours. And you didn’t disappoint! 😊 Ambience is so relaxing, staffs are accommodating, and your katsu is the best! I love your Menchi Katsu since I also love cheese! Will definitely go back here! ❤️
Jun 11, 2018
Zomato
TheHungrySea
+4.5
It was my first time eating here last night. Not familiar with their menu, I asked my girl friend who is a regular customer here be the one to order and she recommended their tonkatsu set. We only ordered 80g as she told me I might not be able to finish the 120g. First they'll give you mortar and pestle with a toasted sesame seeds for you to grind to pair with the tonkatsu sauce. I actually enjoyed that part. I'm also surprised to know the side dishes here are unlimited. Shredded cabbage, fruits, miso soup, and yes, rice (either white or brown). Their tonkatsu was on point. Just the right amount of panko. No overwhelming taste and not too greasy. Their dressing for the shredded cabbage was superb. It's like I won't be needing rice no more. The miso soup was smooth. I would definitely recommend this to my friends.
Jun 11, 2018
Zomato
Gariantoni
+5
Its rare that I give 5 stars to my reviews but Yabu really deserves it. I highly recommend that everyone try their katsu because its yummy and very tender. I ordered the combination of rosu and oysters. It was so good. Also, shout out to the servers for the impeccable service. They show up right away to refill our drinks, rice, cabbage and watermelon. Too bad there’s no refill on the katsu or this rating might go beyond 10 stars. Will definitely come back again.
Apr 25, 2018
Zomato
🦄The Last Unicorn🦄
+5
This branch boasts the most impeccable service I've had in any of the Yabu branches I've eaten at! From offering my seat, taking my order, serving and refilling food items, and drinks, even to serving the bill. I remember my server's name was Joseph, and he was so quick on his feet attending to everyone he sees needing his attention, and also for the ones who call his. I wish all of the restaurant's waiting crew has someone like him who was very dedicated with his job. As for the food, I've got nothing to complain about. Same old, Yabu-katsu goodness I've grown to love. 😋 I got myself a Tori Menchi Katsu Set, with an Edamame, and Potato, and Egg Salad, and plate of Mozzarella Katsu. The Mozzarella Katsus were so flavorful! I love the contrast of soft, piping hot cheese, against a crispy, crunchy, fried batter. It had a little kick in it which was totally complementary to the subtleness of the cheese. The Tori Menchi Katsu was, as it has always been, was delicately delicious; crunchy chicken, oozing cheese, with pieces of ham. Delicious! 😋 Yabu will always be my go-to katsu place whenever my katsu cravings attack. 😋
Apr 19, 2018
Zomato
Fat Kid Inside
+5
The place is very cozy and the staff are very accommodating and polite and they are always smiling i will be back to this resto. #greatcustomerexperience 👌🏻👍🏻
Feb 22, 2018
Zomato
CPo
+5
I alwyas wanna dine in Yabu whenever I get the chance to visit Manila. I just love how the katsu’s are perfectly done and the ambience is also very nice. The service is also great, both in Magnolia and Aura branches. The price is definitely worth it. Unli japanese rice and cabbage is also a plus. Definitely a 5 stars
Feb 18, 2018
Zomato
Gregorie John Ranin
+4.5
A very good place for katsu, tatse good, nice place and staff, worth the price, its actually the best of its kind. will keep coming back. even my japanese nephew like it :)
Feb 17, 2018
Zomato
Chi Kupie
+5
Their staff is very accomodating. Food is super yummy. My daughter tried their tiger prawns and loved it. The cabbage and dressing is a fantastic duo.
Jan 21, 2018
Zomato
Colline♡
+4
PROS
-authentic japanese katsu
-friendly staff
-refreshing ambiance
-refillable rice, fruits, miso soup, cabbage

CONS
-need to repeat orders (water and refill)
-a little bit slow service

Recommended? Yes

Will you be back here? Someday.
Nov 29, 2017
Zomato
Earl Johnson
+4.5
This is my favorite branch amongst all the Yabus out there because of their good service and friendly staff.

My mom likes Yabu a lot and we seem to eat here every month. Unlike the other Yabu’s, they are very fast and would always check on you if you want more refills.

I always order iced tea or lemonade and there is no need to ask for refills for your drinks -they’ll automatically fill your glass without asking. In Megamall you have to pa.

They are also fast even in cleaning the tables of customers who just left.

Only setback is that there isn’t that much options in the menu anymore. We seem to have tried everything already.
Nov 02, 2017
Zomato
Vanessa
+5
No doubt this is called "HOUSE OF KATSU" It's definitely the best ❤ I can't find the right words to describe the food here. But you'll never regret to eat/try their food.
Nov 01, 2017
Zomato
Geneille Rigor
+4.5
My favorite Yabu branch! This is my go to place whenever I crave for Tonkastsu.
Menchi katsu is minced beef and pork stuffed with creamy cheese. I always order this over the rest of their katsu selections. Every single piece served are all delightful and did not disappoint. The coating is always crunchy and the meat is tender and hot. Soup, salad, fruits, brown rice are refillable at no additional cost. I also love the spices and sauce on the table. Their miso soup is also good without that after taste. The servers are attentive and friendly as well.
Oct 26, 2017
Zomato
Cynthia Aquino
+4.5
We ordered a pork katsu set here. The food was great and I was able to enjoy the company of my friend. It was quiet tables are really spacious. The food was good and just as what you expect to get
Sep 12, 2017
Zomato
Jade Pangan
+5
I love the artistry in every gourmet the offer. Palatable dishes just right for its price. Good staff too. Will definitely go back and recommend.
Sep 05, 2017
Zomato
Eatsohkaye
+5
I love how courteous and accommodating the staff is! And very attentive too!!! My siblings and I ordered Menchi Katsu Curry, Menchi Katsu, and of course, the mozzarella katsu sticks! The katsu meals are very flavorful and worth the price!! We truely enjoyed our lunch here. Yabu is really the house of katsu!!!
Aug 23, 2017
Zomato
Jess Sison-Remigio
+5
Food 5/5
Chicken and Menchi Katsu set with refillable shredded cabbage, brown rice, miso soup and fruits

Price: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Place: 5/5

Katsu at its finest🖒🖒🖒
Aug 20, 2017
Zomato
#FoodieLoidee
+4
I like them because they serve good food with big serving. It's okay to spend if the quality is great. They have polite staff. The place is comfy.
Aug 03, 2017
Zomato
RDV
+4
Yabu is a partner restaurant of Ippudo Ramen, a restaurant that my family and I frequently go to, and I must say Yabu is also extremely delicious, their specialty are katsus and sets that make your tastebuds scream with joy! I tried the gyudon set and it's extremely delicious and as wells as the Original Rosu Katsu set, paired with that oh so sweet lemonade to bring down that delicious food in my tummy. I absolutely love the fact that there is unli rice, as well as, unli shredded cabbage to your tastebuds' delight! I recommend you to try this Japanese Katsu Restaurant!
Jul 16, 2017
Zomato
Eliza Alki
+4
Prices are great, Serving sizes are awesome. They serve quality Japanese food. They also refill fast and staff is very welcoming indeed! I've been here a lot of times and Yabu has never failed me.
Jun 20, 2017
Zomato
Peter Rick Alcantara
+5
The service is great and i would love to comeback again sometime. I never expected their food to be that good especially the katsu(my favorite) :)
Jun 16, 2017
Zomato
Lara May
+5
Food and service was really good! 😍 Highly recommended. Me and my friends really enjoyed. We will surely come back. Two thumbs up.👍🏼👍🏼
May 12, 2017
Zomato
Marietoni Pico
+5
We ordered tori menchi set in this store. Okay naman yung lasa and everything about the food. Like really really goood. Only reason it got 4.5/5 ay yung staff.. They're kinda snob which is so unlikely compared sa ibang branches.

-----------
12 May 17


SECOND CHANCE GAMING IS REAL!

Had the chance to go to the store again and this time, the service is incredibly better!

Lou, our main person last night , was sooo bibo! I cant remember how may times she asked us if we need lemonade or whatever it is she can offer. Plus, she's such a friendly face to look at.

Food was still soooo good! We had tori mechi katsu set and the meat was so tender and not nakakalula their cheese filling.

The lemonade was a bit of a downer kasi i think it isn't like freshly squeezed so it could've been better if fresh lemonade and maiserve nila.

Point for improvement: Maybe they can serve dessert or something sweet kasi for some (like me), fruits won't be enough hihi

KUDOS FOR REDEEMING YOUR SELF YABU AURA :D
May 07, 2017
Zomato
Angeli David
+3.5
Loved the food - except for the salmon which preferably I wanted raw. We ordered the Deluxe Mixed Set (P595) which has 1 pc prawn, 2 pcs salmon, 1 pc oyster and Hire. We also got the Chicken and Menchi Set (P390). Try the Menchi (minced and ground meat with cheese)... we really enjoyed that!

The low rating is because we had to follow up numerous times for our water, tea, refills of cabbage or soup or fruits and our table wasn't set right away. We had to ask for our chopsticks and napkins! We weren't there during lunch or dinnertime, and yet still the service was pretty bad. Hope the staff improves over time.

Edited to add: I do like the fact that you can order things a la carte here and not be forced to order with the sides (rice, cabbage, soup and fruits).
Apr 29, 2017
Zomato
Steven Williams
+5
This place is really nice. Every time we want to eat out we go here. We have tried other places in BBC but this place left a mark always craving for more. The place is always full. The price is fine. The staff is very nice. You won't have to wait to long for your food even though they are packed don't know how the cooks do it overall it's just a great place
Apr 23, 2017
Zomato
Wenping Goh
+4
Food : 4/5
Price : 4/5
Service : 4/5
Place : 4/5

Served delicious katsu and my favorite is it sesame sauce. Good service also with free flow of rice, salad and fruits.
Apr 14, 2017
Zomato
Runedfour
+4.5
This is definitely one of the best katsu places I've been to. Food is really good. We ordered the classic one, the one with cheese and one of their mix sets. Their mozzarella sticks are to die for!

Service is kind of bad, we had to call the servers' attention multiple times for them to attend to our needs but I think that can be improved sooo yes I'm still going back for their food.
Apr 13, 2017
Zomato
Migz Cruz
+5
I don't have a nice photo of my food. It's just too good not to dig in as soon as the food arrives.

I had a Rosu Katsu Set (180g).

The cabbage is always a welcome visitor to the main plate. The miso soup is oh-so endearing. The katsu sauce + ground sesame seed combination will always have a place in my heart.

Hot tea can also be served with your food for the full experience.

5/5 all day, everyday!
Apr 12, 2017
Zomato
Jerenann
+5
I dated my mom here at Yabu once. She's quite picky yet she was very satisfied.

Their black and gold interior plus their bar filled with Japanese bottles looks very classy. Interiors and ambiance are important for titas and moms for some reasons (or atleast for mine 🤷🏼‍♀️). Their dinnerwares as well are very traditional Japanese, their tonkatsu sauce spoon particularly and I love the whole atmosphere. ❤️

After ordering, they placed glasses of water, sesame seeds in a mortar with a wooden pestle, and wet towels in our table. Then we were instructed what they are for. Our server charmed us with some potato and some coleslaw like type of salad for appetizer which came out quickly.

Our orders arrived after like 10 minutes and we were stunned with their big serving portions. Both sets came in a big tray with miso soup, shredded cabbage, japanese rice, a bowl of fruits with the big katsu. I ordered the Menchi Katsu, the one filled with cheese and it tastes amazing. It's fried but there's no "umay" factor. The fresh and crisp cabbage adds a delicious texture and sauce was perfect!
Really delicious. My mom had a Pork Katsu which she also approves. To finish, we had some pineapples and watermelon as well.

With around 500p+ for a full set meal, we're so full and satisfied. All thumbs available up! 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻
Apr 11, 2017
Zomato
Janela Franzin Apolinar
+4.5
If you want good authentic Japanese food with a fair price, eat at Yabu. Yabu is one of the most popular Japanese restaurants here in Manila. They are known for serving various kinds of katsu sets. They serve the following sets, Premium kurobuta katsu sets, katsu sets, menchi katsu sets, seafood Katsu sets, Donburi sets, Katsu pairs, Katsu curry sets, Deluxe mixed katsu sets, Original katsudon sets, Special katsudon sets, and Katsu burger sets. So much sets to choose from and they are all irresistibly good. I remember the time when there wasn't a katsu burger set. My family and I just ordered from Yabu and one of the staff approached us and said "Congratulations, you guys are one of the chosen people to try our katsu burger that will soon be served in our restaurant soon." It was one of the best things that happened in my life haha. I never won something like that before. Sadly we couldn't post the picture yet with the rules given by the staff member. When dining in Yabu, I recommend trying the sets from the Deluxe mixed katsu sets. It's one of the most pricey ones but one of the most satisfying ones. My favorite would be the Deluxe Seafood Mixed Set containing, Prawn, Salmon, Oyster, and Cream Dory. Almost all sets include refillable, rice (Japanese or Brown), miso soup, cabbage, and fruits. The breading on the meat had a nice golden brown color and great crunch. The different meats inside are always tender and moist. The sauce that we make at the start, is one of my favorites. The flavor of the crushed Sesame seeds with the sweet and tangy sauce gives the meat great flavor. Whenever I have my cabbage, I would always use the Sesame dressing. It gives a nice nutty and creamy flavor to it and its very addicting haha. For the soup, it was satisfyingly good. The nice soft tofu with seaweed went really good with the soup. For the price that you pay, it's actually fair for what you get. Serving is a lot and the food tastes great. Nothing can get better than dining at Yabu. I would definitely recommend Yabu to all my Japanese food loving friends.
Mar 30, 2017
Zomato
Andrea Lei De La Cruz
+4.5
I appreciated their "Yabu Ritual" in preparing their sauce, because it brings out the best flavor of it. I ordered the Menchi Katsu set. The meat was tender. It was juicy on the inside and it was crispy on the outside. It felt heavy eating this, meaning it was worth the price. The Japanese rice was sticky, exactly how I wanted it to be, but  I expected a lot of cream cheese to be stuffed in the meat. The staff was accommodating and  was always there to check on us. They served the unlimited vegetables, rice and other side dishes generously.
Mar 24, 2017
Zomato
Newton
+5
I've been regularly eating at yabu since the early time its available where they still serve set menu with pickles, and been visiting like once a month

Their very hot curry is the best japanese curry available here in Philippines, the hire katsu is big and delicious too, unlimited rice, soup for the set menu, worth the price.

The food temperature is good here when they served to the customer,  sometimes the rice and curry is not hot anymore at other yabu branch

This branch place is quite spacious but I think the place not so bright enough compared to other branch.

This branch also offering the best service compared to other branch, where all the staff wearing a mic for communication in other to give faster response to the customer, all my request was served in less than 2 minutes. The server also nice where they keep smiling and trying to be more interactive with the customer, keep it up!  Too bad I can't visit this branch often since it's quite far from my place

5 rating :)
Mar 23, 2017
Zomato
Maan Labuga
+4.5
One of my favorite Japanese restaurants!!!Tori Menchi Katsu set is my fave cos cheese is lyf 😂😍 Tiger prawns are worth a try too 👅🖒Yummmmm
Mar 12, 2017
Zomato
Jericho Hollman Jumangit
+4
SERVICE: The staffs are kind and accommodating and very hands-on on explaining on how to make the sauce of the katsu for the 1st time guest .

PLACE: It looks just like the other yabu branches, except its bigger

PRICE: the price of their food ranges from 300 to 700 pesos.

FOOD: What i liked about their food is the pork katsu is so tender. And not hard to chew. Compared to the other pokr katsus ive tried
Mar 06, 2017
Zomato
Jimola
+4
My girlfriend and I went to dine here because of the misleading promo they had outside their restaurant. But to cut the long story short, we were so pleased by the service rendered by their staff esp Nikko. The food was amazing! So remarkable that it got me so dizzy after and went to the toilet to poop after. I even asked my gf to buy me water because the food was full of oil. It's the thing you called umay. But to sum up, the food was great 👍 will definitely go back, but with bonamine and bottled water on my bag hehehe.
Feb 19, 2017
Zomato
Raphael Ortuoste
+4.5
What? Japanese food? I was never really a fan of Japanese food; until Yabu came along. I think what's good abt this restaurant is that they only cook your Katsy when you order it, resulting in fresh meals, every meal. My personal favourite is Tori Menchi bec I loooove Cheese. The sensation of cheese sandwhiched in meat, deep fried to golden perfection, is irreplaceable. And here's the catch: it is a little pricey. But, expect a happy and full tummy afterwards.
Feb 12, 2017
Zomato
Tarafoodtrip
+4
Don't go on a Sunday — long waiting line. But lining up is worth it. I'm not a fan of katsu before but now, i sometimes catch myself thinking about it. Try the tori menchi katsu — creamcheese stuffed pork katsu, it's so good. Pricey but worth a try! Also love the genuine miso soup (w/c others might easily neglect). Service was a bit off, maybe because there are a lot of guests.
Jan 25, 2017
Zomato
Aryen Jumaya
+5
This place has easily wormed its way into both mine and my husband's hearts. Our new favorite restaurant. I love Japanese food! If I'm craving a curry tonkatsu with white fluffy rice, I think of this restaurant, I know they can give me the taste that I'm looking for.
Dec 30, 2016
Zomato
Sandra
+3.5
It's always an experience eating at Yabu. We are currently loving their salmon set. We were introducing this resto to some relatives who just came home. The food did not fail us as expected. However this branch is a bit cramped. The crew were friendly but you have to call their attention several times for your request.
Dec 21, 2016
Zomato
Kyuketsuki
+3.5
As with every branch of Yabu, the food is exceptional and delicious. Although the staff here is a little bit less attentive than others, they still are friendly and accomodating. This is not my preferred branch because the place is a bit crammed.

My usual orders include Hire Katsu and any Katsu Curry in very hot.
Dec 06, 2016
Zomato
Jaydee Medina
+5
The best Yabu branch I've been to so far.
The staffs are attentive and accommodating.

With regards to food, hands down. Chicken and dory katsu is a must try.
Nov 14, 2016
Zomato
EATSplorations
+4
Hello everyone! Here’s the last installment of our recent Great Eatscape EATSperience with ForkSpoonManila and SM Aura. This EATSperience is about Yabu, a restaurant that has become a household name for all sorts of great-tasting katsu and more. We had a great run for the first few restaurants but we were glad that we still had room for what Yabu had in stored for us. This is also our first time to write about Yabu. Surprising, right? We are really excited to share our thoughts about what we EATSperienced and we hope you are excited to read about it too. Before the katsu gets cold, here goes our Yabu EATSperience, enjoy!
Nov 21, 2016
Zomato
Patrick Michael Balo
+4.5
Yabu: House of Tonkatsu served, as expected, a wonderful, flavorful slab of pork tonkatsu. It was tender, perfectly seasoned and very filling. My wife had the chicken katsudon and it was equally amazing. But what made our wednesday date at Yabu even more amazing was the service. We arrived right before closing time but the manager was so gracious and the staff so nice that we never felt as if they were hurrying us up so they could close up. It's times like these that turn a nice restaurant into a favorite restaurant.
Nov 13, 2016
Zomato
What The F | TFC
+5
I've dined here several times, and Yabu, no matter what branch, never fails to wow me or my dining companions. I usually order any of their seafood sets, but since I haven't eaten menchi in a long time, I went for that. My boyfriend opted for the gyudon set, and we were both satisfied! Service and food were great, as always. :)
Nov 08, 2016
Zomato
Food Buds
+5
The food is great here. My family have enjoyed our meal that was freshly cooked.
It was such a great experience.
Service is 5/5 servers or even managers were very helpful.
Oct 26, 2016
Zomato
The Pickiest Eater In The World
+4.5
Be honest.. Before Yabu existed, was there anyone that ever stopped for a second and said, "Hey, I'm craving for some Katsu!". Back in the day, it was always just usually, "Dude, let's go for some sushi", or "I want some tempura!", or even the generic, "Let's get some Japanese food!".
Nov 11, 2016
Zomato
Anna Herras
+4
Went here during the Holy week so was just able to try the Dory meal set. The experience of grinding sesame seed is therapeutic and the place set up makes you feel like a modern japanese. They have the best breaded meat which almost melts in your mouth. Worth the 250-400 price range for an unlimited rice, greens and fruits
Sep 22, 2016
Zomato
Filsung 10
+5
My favourite restaurant. I love the Menchi Katsu Curry! I also love the chocolate cake! The salad, miso soup, rice and fruits are refillable! Its always a joy to be here!
Sep 17, 2016
Zomato
Mary Love Siy
+4
#late post (or you could say advanced since it's Christmas again in a few months)
You better watch out, you better not cry. You better not pout, I’m telling you why. Christmas break is a few days away! Yeeeey! And I am now feeling it with all these Christmas dinners and meet ups. I love it! Come here holiday fats! *hug* :D

It has been a tradition in our department to organize a simple Christmas dinner where we share a nice meal together and exchange gifts. But since we were extra busy (and poor) this year, we decided to scrap the second one and just focused on the fattening part.

This time, we decided to have dinner at Yabu and since it’s not exactly a new restaurant, I made sure that I order something different. I remember a post on Yabu’s Menchi Katsu Burger (PHP380) and decided to get that one.
Sep 14, 2016
Zomato
Mary Love Siy
+4
#latepost
You better watch out, you better not cry. You better not pout, I’m telling you why. Christmas break is a few days away! Yeeeey! And I am now feeling it with all these Christmas dinners and meet ups. I love it! Come here holiday fats! *hug* :D

It has been a tradition in our department to organize a simple Christmas dinner where we share a nice meal together and exchange gifts. But since we were extra busy (and poor) this year, we decided to scrap the second one and just focused on the fattening part.

This time, we decided to have dinner at Yabu and since it’s not exactly a new restaurant, I made sure that I order something different. I remember a post on Yabu’s Menchi Katsu Burger (PHP380) and decided to get that one.

When we arrived, the early birds already secured a long table for us. (And it was not a picnic to get one as they waited for half an hour outside as Yabu requires them to place all our orders before getting a table).

It took a while before my dish was served. I was starving to the point of me feeling my cheekbones becoming more prominent and my tummy digesting my tummy. And to distract myself from the World War III happening inside my body, I decided to read the comic strip on the wall which was quite funny. (Katsu solves family feuds.)

And finally, my Menchi Katsu Burger arrived.

Menchi Katsu Burger is described by Yabu as “made with superior ground beef and pork, stuffed with creamy cheese, topped with shredded cabbage, shio leaves, Japanese pickles, spicy aioli and caramelized onion jam in a toasted brioche bun.” Doesn’t it sound so delectable? It also comes with Furikake French Fries with Japanese seasonings!

My officemates were curious about the burger and asked me if it was yummy after my first bite. I replied, “It’s okay. Nothing special.” Until it hit me… It was actually more than okay. It was scrumptious!

“Where were you when I still did not have these excess fats on my thighs and everywhere else?” That was the first question that came to mind when I had my second bite off my Menchi Katsu Burger. (Yep, not first. SECOND.)

The crunchy breading of the katsu was a perfect contrast to then soft bun. The tender and juicy patty with oozing cheese was addicting! I loved it with the veggies, especially the crisp shredded cabbage.

I want more!!!
Sep 07, 2016
Zomato
Pol Maleniza
+4
its our first time in yabu sm aura and we find it as the best yabu branch. so far i have been to megamall, powerplant, greenbelt5 & atc. my son ordered for a 120g rosu tonkatsu, my wife opted for prawn & cream dory katsudon, and i got gyudon set. we also tried its appetizer of wakame & potato egg salad. always a great treat to eat at yabu. we enjoyed this visit again. with the unlimited rice and cabbage, we were so stuffed afterwards.
Sep 04, 2016
Zomato
Jose Michael
+4
So this is what I had left on what supposed to be a picture of my meal. I always like japanese katsu and yabu never fail me. The price is right for me as it comes with unlimited rice, miso soup and cabbage. I do hope, however, that citibank promotion will return for this restaurant. If you like to have that busog lusog meal, its yabu. The cabbage alone is enough to satisfy me. I really loved their katsu whatever it is, the prawn, pork or salmon. I guess for Pinoys, even if you dont use chopsticks, you can give Yabu a try coz they can give you spoon and fork. Dont be shy to ask for one. My sister said no at first because she said she had to use a chopsticks in Yabu until I told her we can actually ask for a spoon and fork.

TUMMY ADVICE: Go for the Hire Katsu 120g, usually, thats all youll need. And don't be shy to ask for a refill of your cabbage, miso soup and rice. Trust me, nobody will care and nobody will notice.
Aug 23, 2016
Zomato
Christian A. Orbegoso
+4
We had our lunch here with my officemates and was offered seat by their accomodating crew.

I've ordered Deluxe Mixed Seafood set with Prawn, Dory, Oyster and Salmon but the service crew wrongly give me the other set with hire. Though she insisted I have ordered the one with Hire, I clearly pointed from the menu what I ordered and she might misheard since my other officemate odered the other set. Was offered to wait for the Dory katsu and hire for free, but gave the hire to my officemate since I'm not a fan of pork meat.

Must Try? Yes! We'll be coming back again. Thumbs up for the service crew who patiently handles my errands with the wrong set. 👍
Jul 31, 2016
Zomato
Yian Madrid
+4
Service crew: How was the service mam ?
Me:Excellent !!!

It was a great night for me yersterday :)
I really thought id screwed it up coz of the traffic and its alrdy 6pm my tita told me we cant go.on reservation if we fail to come in early we can find another one . Luckly when we arrived there are tables left then we ordered immediately then chat after . They told us the food will be served after 10-15mins which was good ! and its easilyto request since its unlimited i got to eat manycabbages hahaha and request for a miso soup
Jul 30, 2016
Zomato
Jovi Romero
+5
Definitely one of the best Japanese restaurant in the country! I assure you guys, it was worth every penny you spent on this food. The place is elegantly styled and the ambiance is peaceful and relaxing. The staff were well organized and are always ready to attend to our every need. I tried their Pork Tonkatsu and it was hands down one of the best authentic tonkatsu I've ever tasted. The fruits was fresh and good as well, I keep asking for it. You guys should really try this place!!!!
Jul 24, 2016
Zomato
Chris Pawhay
+4
Day/Time: Saturday, 6pm. Easily got a seat for 3. The staff was pretty attentive to our needs. The place was fairly packed. It is advisable to come early to avoid the que.

Food:

Mozzarella sticks: First time to try this one and it was a surprise that it tasted so good! Best eaten while hot, the cheese is so full and the breading was just right. The dip was a good addition to the already tasty appetizer. This definitely sets the tone for the main course.

Hire Kurobuta Set: Apparently this was the "kobe beef" of pork, it was true to its class with the soft and flavorful texture, and the meat was very tender. The serving size looked a bit small but I was amazed at how full I was after finishing 3/4 of the whole 120g that I got. The Karashi tonkatsu sauce added the trademark taste that Yabu is known for. The refillable miso soup and rice is a big plus for those with a bit of an appetite. Although I'm not much of a coleslaw salad fan, it was more than okay for me.

Hire Original Katsudon: This is a staple for those who are fond of eating in Japanese restaurants. Sometimes it is a default for those who aren't so adventurous in their meals. The meat was perfectly cooked, just as tender as the regular katsu you'd get in the set. We got the original one (the difference with that of the special katsudon, we were told, was that the original was more saucy) since we preferred the original taste rather than us experimenting on what sauce to put in. The egg on top blends perfectly well with the whole gustatory ensemble.

We wouldn't mind going back to this place to try out the other meals in their menu. We just have to avoid the long que.
Jul 17, 2016
Zomato
Keith Ver
+5
One of my favorite restaurants! Yabu is the restaurant you have to go to if you're looking for the best katsu in town. I always order their Rosu or Pork Loin Set (180g P440) because it has some fat trimmings unlike Hire or Pork Tenderloin. Hehe aside from the katsu itself, what I like about their sets is that they serve it with unlimited rice (white or brown), miso soup, pickles, and of course, unlimited cabbaaaaaggggeee (with the voice of Emperor Palpatin haha) Then you add the sesame sauce and black vinegar combo to the cabbage! Also, you can have bottomless iced tea! So that's a plus for me. Pretty much everything here is unlimited except for the katsu that is. Unti-untiin mo na lang. Hahaha if you're up for some Japanese heavy eating, this is the place to be!

*I'm not sure if this is still available but I remember getting free 150g Rosu Katsu on my birth month some few years back. I hope it still is tho! Haha
Jul 09, 2016
Zomato
Rommel Sarno
+4
Haven't explored all their dishes yet but so far this is my favorite Japanese restaurant. Props to their Katsu set. Ambiance is so cozy and relaxing.
Value for money: 8/10
Ambiance: 8/10
Food: 8/10
Jul 09, 2016
Zomato
Karl Gorospe
+4.5
Yabu. One of the most popular restaurants that serves good katsu. Dined here 7.3.2016 and the place was packed. Glad we didnt have to wait in line to get seated - since this was around 6pm.

Ordered the usual katsu - tenderloin. It is still as good as the ones in Japan. I liked how perfect it was cooked. Good to know they havent lost their touch with the katsu.

As for the service it was kinda slow but i do understand due to the sheer volume of people in the resto. As for the price i still do find it very pricey.. but maybe for the ambiance and the quality of pork i guess i could say its alright.

My cousin ordered the rosu original katsudon and he was satisfied. The pork was also cooked perfectly. The serving of rice is also generous.. well its unlimited so yeah.. generous.

Would come back and try more into their dishes. I just wished they have a more healthier option for health concious people.
Jul 03, 2016
Zomato
Harvard
+3.5
I remember when they first came to town years ago, lines and waiting time were ridiculous. It was already weeks to opening then when I tried their branch in Mangnolia but still waited 2 hours for a seat. 

This phenomenon is not so far until today. They get busy on peak times including lunch and dinner on weekends. The deep fried tonkatsu is nothing new but they make it better. They do so with better taste, variety and a not so greasy feel. The sauce accompanied with grinding sesame seed was also a welcome unique component. 

Personally not a fan of deep fried food but I don't mind having this fix once in awhile. The unlimited cabbage with nice Japanese Sesame dressing adds to my interest here. They also have brown rice option and just recently pan fried salmon if your looking for a more healthier option.
Jul 01, 2016
Zomato
Kate T
+4.5
This branch of Yabu is the best one IMO. Good service, and it's much bigger. I love their katsu sets, it's good value for money since they offer unli rice, soup, and appetizers.
Jun 16, 2016
Zomato
Norman | The Travelling Tongue
+4
Queue can be very long especially during lunch time. So I suggest to have a reservation. I always order Hire here. I love the unlimited rice and cabbage. Best with sesame dressing!!!
May 04, 2016
Zomato
Boodle Bear
+3.5
Yabu is the most popular katsu place in the metro. Sunday dinner in SM Aura branch of Yabu is pretty intense. We had an hour wait for a table for 10. But I am not complaining because it is the most busy night of the week. Yet the service was satisfactory but lacked efficiency since we last dined here. Orders were out fast and but refills were done in a slow pace.

I ordered Kurobota Miso and the pork cutlet was fried perfectly, the miso sauce was very tasty that I finished 2 1/2 cups of rice and 4 servings of cabbage plus 2 miso soup. Wny go through a buffet when you're stuffed 'til here (pointing at my throat).

My mom ordered the seafood set 2 with the salmon, prawns and oyster. I just think that the oyster is too heavily breaded (O.A. sa breading!) but that's their style I guess.

Get the brown rice if you feel healthy then topped it off with some sesame seeds.

Good thing about Yabu being in SM Aura is that you could walk around the mall while waiting for your table.
May 02, 2016
Zomato
Two
+4.5
Not a fan of Japanese but I'm thankful I didn't reject the offer this time.
Waited for almost an hour for table, but didn't mind that when our food was served.
I got their Chicken Katsu (120). At first, I was a bit scared since I might not finish it but after tasting it, I should've ordered the biggest one (LOL) I love it and it was so good! My partner got their Kurobota Pork Set (120) and when he tasted it, it really brightened up his face and ate it slowly since he was 'enjoying' the moment.
Everything else was great. The staff was okay but slow. We had to request things twice but it was fine since there were a lot of people to serve.
I am definitely going back!
Apr 23, 2016
Zomato
Katzikat
+5
My son's favorite Katsu place. I guess when he started to learn how to use chopsticks for his food, he always request for something japanese. I was even surprised that he can finish the biggest servings for adults (not the for-kids menu). And his favorite ritual in prepping his sauce. Kids! :)
Mar 30, 2016
Zomato
Vincent Quiambao
+3.5
Great katsu, fast and speedy service. No wonder there was craze about this place.
Not to mention, unli rice,cabbage and picked with miso soup
Must try
Chicken Katsu 180
Mar 22, 2016